Ferrari Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This thread is dedicated to an

This thread is dedicated to an analysis of the F355 suspension. There is a similarly titled thread in the General discussions section where comments, questions, disagreements and the like can be discussed. This will leave this thread for the presentation of the F355 suspension so that it can be extended over time and remain readable.

See: http://www.ferrari-talk.com/discus/messages/4/13271.html?1158280360

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
My story:

When I first got

My story:

When I first got my 1995 F355B just a little more than 5 years ago, the suspension was not well sorted. Being an engineer by trade, and well versed in physics, and proficient in eXcel; I decided to find out what was wrong and how to fix it. The knowledge gained in this journey is condensed into this thread for anyone what want to understand the F355 suspension and more importantly, why ti feels the way it feels while driving. Later in this thread, I will show how the original F348 suspension felt different and why, and I will wrap up with a few statements on why Ferrari suspensions are the way they are.

Being a semi-proficient mechanic, I decided to investigate why my car felt so weird. It had symptoms of being overly nervous while driving on straight flat uncambered road surfaces, was actually dangerous when braking hard from from super-super legal speeds.

The first course of events is your typical suspension alignment. I found that the rear cambers were imbalanced and agressive, and that the front suspension was pretty close to factory specs in the camber department. I also found out how easy it is to change the camber and toe on the F355 suspension, so I proceeded to 'straighten' out the rear end back to factory specs. This procedure had worked for me on numerous sports cars I had owned in the past.