Ferrari Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After reading and gasping at J

After reading and gasping at Jeff Green's accomplishments and David Feinberg's response, it got me curious.

How many of you guys really take these things apart? Do the engine out guys also mess with getting the body right? Suspension etc? I know David was at one point messing with camber settings and such.

I'm trying to get to a point where I can do this myself. I am relatively informed via books only. In practice I know that is near worthless. Maybe start on an 80s Porsche engine or something. When did you guys get your start wrenching?

Cheers

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Good Afternoon Taek-Ho....I&#3

Good Afternoon Taek-Ho....I'm not a mechanic by any stretch...just had to learn to keep my POS beater cars going. My first car ('71 Olds) was full of trouble, and at first I'd take it to a garage for fixing and then be flat broke for weeks. Well that got old, not to mention it severely hindered my partying - to a teenage kid that's priority! So I simply started by doing tune-up stuff and went from there. For real mechanics I have the utmost respect as they must have knowledge way beyond what I need to know, they have to learn all facets of autos not just the glamorous parts. I have done some suspension aligning using steel channel, wire, tape measure, and a level. Talk about caveman technology....but I was within 0.1 degrees of optimum amazingly. If you break things down to their simplest form it becomes much less intimidating. But it can be a nightmare to re-assemble several subsystems if your not organized and keep notes. As far as bodywork...NOPE! That's a black art as far as I'm concerned. I've tried a little here and there, but you really have to be talented, to have the knack. I once put a nasty deep gouge in my blue metallic ZR-1 right on the side of the hood! Several bodyshops said the color is not going to match exactly. I kept asking around and fou