Ferrari Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is kind of 'have you

This is kind of 'have you seen' request. But I've been searching for a '95 Red 355 (GTB or GTS). I'm looking for a very specific car: I want a car without the valve guides changed to sintered steel, which still needs it (I want to perform the service myself; I'm an adept mechanic). Has anyone come across such a car?

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hi Chris:

I'm just curi

Hi Chris:

I'm just curious as to what is price range that you expect to pay for such as "undesirable" automobile?
Let's say one with just under 30K miles.

VS

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi Chris:

I'm just curi

Hi Chris:

I'm just curious as to what is the price range that you expect to pay for such as "undesirable" automobile?
Let's say, for the sake of argument, one with just under 30k miles on it.

VS

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Note: cars as late as 1998 hav

Note: cars as late as 1998 have been found with bronze valve guides.

Note: My 95 (probably) has the bronze valve guides, and has seen over 3000 miles on race tracks, yet still has perfect leakdown for a 40,000 mile car (last winter when we did a major). I have pictures looking straight down the intakes and see the backsides of the intake valves--absolutely clean.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hi Chris:

My '95 wouldn

Hi Chris:

My '95 wouldn't meet your requirements since it has had the valve guides replaced (see "355 heads" thread in the technical questions section). However (and here it goes, my unsolicited opinion), I beleive that you may find it difficult to "Low Ball" most of these owners for their cars.