Ferrari Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a disabled Vietnam Vetera

I am a disabled Vietnam Veteran who suffers from post traumatic stress disorder and my tour of duty in Vietnam was Nov.17, 1968 to nov. 17, 1969. I was in the infantry and was awarded the Bronze Star Medal & The Army Accomadation Medal for meritorius achievement in a combat zone. I’m a lifetime member of the Vietnam Veterans Association and an avid member of The Ferrari Club of America, which is the world’s largest Ferrari Club. I also enjoy volunteering my time at Englewood Hospital & Medical Center, where I have over 1200 hours of community service.

My dream in life was to own a magnificent Ferrari. I’ve owned and driven Aston Martin, Lotus, Porche, Corvette, and after my first test drive last week in a 1995 Ferrari 348 Spyder I was a changed man. The sound of the engine and exhaust was exhilarating not to mention the sheer performance, I was indeed hooked on the feeling. In fact, that night I bought a rare 1992 Ferrari 348 Specialle from DC Motors in Anahiem, California. In 1992 they only made 12 units and in 1993 they made 88 units, for a total production run of 100 cars. My Ferrari is #19 of 100 and came with all documentation including the original window sticker showing the MSRP of $111,000.

Owning a Ferrari is a dream that is feasible. There are the 308 models ranging from $25,000 to $40,000 which isn’t a lot for a true sports car. Then there are the 328,348,355 & the testarossa models to choose from. I paid $54,800 for my car and it is insured with Hagherty Insurance Company under exotic or classic cars. The yearly tab for a complete policy is $978 which covers to and from car shows, exhibitions and occassional pleasure drives (yearly mileage not to exceed 2000 miles a year).I find this to be quite affordable for a Ferrari..